Kitchen & Bath Design News

NOV 2018

Kitchen & Bath Design News is the industry's leading business, design and product resource for the kitchen and bath trade.

Issue link: https://kitchenbathdesign.epubxp.com/i/1050194

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 67

WASHINGTON, DC — Kitchen and bath designers seeking to apply their talents to other rooms may discover significant revenue opportunities in reconfiguring residen- tial spaces for pets, as well as for in-laws and au pairs. That's the message implicit in the results of the American Institute of Architects' second quarter 2018 "Home Design Trends Survey," released last month by the Washington, DC-based AIA. The surveys are conducted quarterly among a panel of more than 500 architecture firms that concentrate their practice in the residential sector. The AIA's latest survey results – focusing on home fea- tures – reveals architecture firms receiving a major bump in interest from clients looking to reconfigure interior kennels and au pair/in-law suites as home spaces that can function as separate living quarters. "Outdoor living areas and home offices remain popular special-function rooms in a booming market, but an increas- ing number of homeowners are also focusing on their pets and incorporating them into their housing designs," said AIA Chief Economist Kermit Baker. Among the AIA survey's key findings: • Residential architecture firms reported that cli- ent interest in pet rooms/interior kennels in- creased to 30% from 20% a year ago. • The popularity of au pair/in-law suites also grew in the AIA's latest survey, with 41% of respondents reporting interest, up from 36% a year ago. • Outdoor living areas topped the list of home fea- tures growing in popularity, with almost 58% of sur- vey respondents reporting an increased interest. • Client interest in adding a home office in- creased to 39% from 33% a year ago. "Overall, the home design market remains robust, with consumer interest in custom/luxury homes showing the strongest improvement among new construction sectors," reported the AIA, adding that residential architects report "continued strong interest" in accommodations for multiple generations in the homes they design. ▪ Spaces for In-Laws, Pets Gaining Interest Source: American Institute of Architects 2 Qtr. 'Home Design Trends Survey' POPULARITY OF SPECIAL-FUNCTION ROOMS AMONG TODAY'S HOMEOWNERS % of Architects Reporting Popularity of Room 'Increasing' Minus % Reporting 'Decreasing' 56% 38% 35% 33% 2018 2017 20% 70% 36% 29% 22% 4% Outdoor Living Mud Rooms Au Pair/In-Law Suites Home Offices Pet Room/Interior Kennel Photo: Hadley Photography, Fairfax, VA, www.greghadleyphotography.com This pet area, designed by Four Brothers LLC in Washington, DC includes a pet washing station and apartment-style dog bed areas on two levels. 10 Kitchen & Bath Design News • November 2018 CONSUMER BUYING TRENDS DEMOGRAPHICS & BUYING PATTERNS FOR THE HOME PUBLISHING SOLA GROUP, INC. 1880 OAK AVE., SUITE 350 EVANSTON, IL 60201 (847) 440-3000 Paul DeGrandis Publisher, ext. 100 Paul@SOLAbrands.com Eliot Sefrin Publisher Emeritus, ext. 113 Eliot@SOLAbrands.com SALES WEST Paul DeGrandis Ext. 100 Paul@SOLAbrands.com EAST Joanne Naylor Ext. 114 Joanne@SOLAbrands.com SOUTHEAST Dan Agostinacchio Ext. 101 Dan@SOLAbrands.com MIDWEST Jessica Fidrocki Ext. 117 Jessica@SOLAbrands.com MIDWEST Zach Stenberg Ext. 115 Zach@SOLAbrands.com PRODUCT & LITERATURE SHOWCASE/CLASSIFIED ADS Mike Serino Ext. 102 Mike@SOLAbrands.com EDITORIAL Janice Anne Costa Editor, ext. 116 Janice@SOLAbrands.com Anita Shaw Managing Editor, ext. 112 Anita@SOLAbrands.com Autumn McGarr Associate Editor, ext. 104 Autumn@SOLAbrands.com SUBSCRIPTIONS Kitchen & Bath Design News Circulation Dept. P.O. Box 3007 Northbrook, IL 60065-3007 (866) 932-5904 circ.kbdn@omeda.com KitchenBathDesign.com ®

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Kitchen & Bath Design News - NOV 2018